Achievements: Unlocked

Japanese cuisine, life challenges

It is not an understatement to say that I love food. I am especially fond of pastries and Japanese cuisine. Amusingly, the shojo manga Mixed Vegetables by Ayumi Komura, highlights the food I’m currently craving.

A few days ago my youngest sister and I both had a craving for chocolate cake. She pulled cocoa powder out of the cupboard. Instead of going to the bakery to get a slice of cake, I’ve come to the realization that if I want something particular to eat, I’m going to have to make it myself.

Four hours later...

Four hours later… I ended up becoming a baker.

I’m going on three months without Japanese food and have not found a good Japanese restaurant in the area. The Shop Rite supermarket sushi cannot compare to the quality sushi that my taste buds are used to.

Us girls (my youngest sister and step-mom) headed out to do errands this past Friday. Besides getting turned around (i.e. slightly lost) and driving along picturesque two lane roads, we stopped by Wegmans in Wilkes-Barre. Coming up to the imported foods aisle I let out a little squeal and started grabbing items. My youngest sister laughed. I’d found the jackpot.

Sushi and miso soup anyone?

Sushi and miso soup anyone?

Since the local supermarket doesn’t have the ingredients for the types of food that I like to eat, I have to stock up at the store that’s thirty to forty minute drive away. This is the country after all. Sadly, I wasn’t able to find kimchi. Locating kimchi will be another goal for another trip. In the meantime I’m looking forward to having soba noodles for lunch tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

