An Experiment with Water

current events, eco challenge, life challenges

Earlier this month I conducted an experiment. It was fairly simple: I drank only from plastic water bottles one week, and the next week used a drinking glass. I kept track of how much I drank by glass and bottle. One glass is the equivalent of one 16 oz plastic bottle.

Seventeen water bottles on the wall...

Seventeen bottles of water on the wall…

My results were interesting. I drank more water when using a glass; twenty-two glasses to seventeen plastic water bottles. Subconsciously I may have been limiting my use of plastic bottles to roughly two a day because every time I twisted a cap open I felt guilty.

The day before American Thanksgiving it snowed ten inches. Below the deceivingly fluffy snow lay an inch of ice that I tried to clear out of the driveway. An hour and a half of breaking and tossing slabs to the side, mingled with flinging loose snow at one of my nieces, I was tired.

Working in all the snow and ice made me thirsty. The water I poured myself from a two gallon plastic jug in the fridge was cold and refreshing. Then my eyes slid over to the faucet. It was slightly below freezing outside; wouldn’t the faucet water be just as refreshing? Had I really learned anything from my experiment?

Granted the jug in the fridge probably contains less plastic then the seventeen bottles; however, it is still plastic. Water from the faucet comes from an underground well and is nearly free. Why then am I drinking from a store bought plastic jug in the fridge? Convenience? Taste? I honestly can’t say. Well water may have impurities, I tell myself. Yet, a filter can take care of that and I use faucet water to boil for tea without a second thought.

Another question presented itself. If I get a filter can we get rid of water bottles and jugs completely since we have an underground well? The answer is, not quite. The well pump doesn’t work during a power outage therefore, no running water. As is stands, we will always have bottled water on hand for such an emergency.

Very thankful to have running and drinkable water.

Very thankful to have running and drinkable water.

I am finding that the steps to reduce my Eco footprint means being conscientious of my own propensity towards waste and research alternatives. It is very encouraging to find out that some water filter companies have teamed up with recycling companies to reduce waste even further.

On a normal day like today where heavy wet snow frosts everything and the lights are still on, a glass or reusable water bottle and a filter can save quite a bit of money.

Eco Challenge: Buy a water filter and the next time I reach for a plastic water bottle or jug will be only when the electricity is out.

Leave a Reply

