‘Tis the Season

Art, current events

My younger sister started a Christmas tradition by accident. One December she made delicious red velvet cookies from scratch and I inhaled at least a half dozen. The next December rolled around and she was asked if she would be making her cookies again. She did. My older sister came into the action with three chip chocolate chip cookies. I had my hand in that cookie jar as well.

Since I am spending this Christmas apart from two of my sisters, I decided I too would join the cookie bandwagon. For some time I’ve wanted to try to make ginger and molasses cookies that were chewy and spicy, and great with milk, or tea, or a hot toddy.

Ginger and spice and everything nice.

Ginger and spice and everything nice.

I made three batches of the stuff. There were piles of cookies everywhere by the time I finished at almost two in the morning. I now have the recipe memorized and am certain this will be my contribution to our holiday cookie tradition. The taste verdict has yet to be received.

Besides the cookies I had to be creative with my holiday cards as well. I had absolutely no budget for cards, so everyone received handmade cards.

Bit of craftiness: tossed together twenty-four handmade cards, still cleaning up the mess.)

Bit of craftiness: tossed together twenty-four handmade cards… still cleaning up the mess.

Hope every one has Happy Holidays!

One thought on “‘Tis the Season

Leave a Reply

