Where Anime Meets Growing Up

Anime, Art, comics, manga, nerd culture, writing

A week ago a Twitter thread circled asking people to list their top five animes. Quite a few lists contained Trigun and Cowboy Bebop. Yours truly listed: Skip Beat, Outlaw Star, Black Lagoon, Kaleido Star, and Samurai Champloo.

 My favorite Episode... 17! (image copyright held by their respective owners)

My favorite Episode! #15 Bogus Booty. (image copyright held by their respective owners)

As many nerds of manga and anime, I tried to draw as the mangakas did. I drew and read, imagining the stories I could tell once I got better at it. I was not successful at first; the people I drew looked closer to stick figures with itty-bitty feet.

circa sep2006

circa September 2006

A few years ago, while having lunch with my older sister and brother-in-law, he suddenly asked me, “What do you want to be when you grow up?”

I laughed because I was in my mid-twenties, but I answered “Something in art. Making money doing artwork and writing.”

At the time I hadn’t yet tired of working at The Bank. Every so often he threw that question at me and I began to seriously consider what the future could be. I never intended to stay at that job for as long as I did.

Making My Top Five Anime list had me looking through my early attempts, and sliding a sketch book into my book bag. Practicing and consistently working on the craft is the only way us regular people can improve. After all art is what I want to do when I grow up.

 

2 thoughts on “Where Anime Meets Growing Up

  1. I love your drawing! If that is what you consider “unsuccessful” anime, I can’t wait to see what you’re finally capable of.

Leave a Reply

