Since I’ve Been Gone

Art, college, comics, current events, life challenges, nerd culture

Being a full-time college student is harder than I thought.

Between working and going to classes, nearly every spare moment is taken up by homework, or necessary errands. I look forward to every Sunday evening where I get to play role playing games. Speaking of game night, I recently had to change from PathFinder to Dungeons and Dragons (vr5) due to my work schedule changing. With D&D 5 there is a learning curve as some of the mechanics differ from PathFinder; however, I created a spunky new character that I really like. I have taken to bringing along a sketchbook to sessions.

A fellow D&D player.

A fellow D&D player.

The game master or "he who creates problems for the players to face".

The game master or “he who creates problems for the players to face”.

I am beginning to wonder what am I going to do with a Fine Arts degree. I envisioned myself working in comic books. That medium of art and storytelling has gained more momentum in recent years. Not to mention that more than a few comic book based movies have made blockbuster hits. While I enjoy reading comics books, I wish to tell my own stories and create characters that reflect my perspective as a woman of color. A bachelors in Illustration seems to be pulling at me more than graphic design (which I originally intended to obtain).

This character looks suspiciously like me.

This character looks suspiciously like someone I know.

Decisions… Decisions.

Leave a Reply

