Why I Take a Dose of Comedy with the News

current events, life lessons, nerd culture, View Point

There’s this pervading idea that nerds are only interested in what comics or movies are coming out. I’ll be the first to admit that my Twitter feed is selected so I receive updates on general nerdy things. However, life isn’t all superheroes and anime. Within the nerdy world there are social and creative problems that are a direct reflection of issues encountered in real life.

Conventional news gives me a headache. If it isn’t people yelling at and/or over each other incoherently, the topics and/or coverage is sadly lacking in viewpoints are relevant to me. While I don’t watch regular news channels on a daily basis it doesn’t mean that I don’t keep up with what’s going on around me.

I’ve taken to watching late night satirical segments such as Full Frontal, The Daily Show, and Nightly Show. I watch these shows for their entertainment factor. What goes on in the world can be seriously depressing. Being able to laugh or chuckle every now and then is a boost to the spirit even if the next topic is more somber.

I don’t completely rely on those shows for all my news. There are journalists, and online articles that I follow and read. VICE offers national, worldwide, and documentary segments that provides a slightly more unbiased commentary than the bigger news networks.

Yet, I’ve realized there is so much going on in the nation and the world that I can’t keep up with everything. If I tried I wouldn’t be able to leave the house or enjoy life. At the end of the day, and to help my sanity, I prefer news with a bit of comedy on the side.

One thought on “Why I Take a Dose of Comedy with the News

Leave a Reply

